Friday, 17 June 2011

The Flesh Eaters part I

The Flesh Eaters are an American punk band from Los Angeles, California who were initially active from 1977 to 1983, before reforming in the early ’90s. This “roots rock voodoo blues” band was formed by lead singer and L.A. punk poet Chris Desjardins (better known as Chris D.). The Flesh Eaters mixed punk rock, blues-rock, and jazz with goth rock morbidity, B-movie horror, and sun drenched California boredom in a frenzied, hot-rodded doom-and-gloom squall of obfuscating batcave poetry. Writer R. Meltzer dubbed the band “blabbermouth lockjaw of the soul.” The Flesh Eaters changed lineups continually, and musicians counted previously among their ranks include Stan Ridgway (Wall of Voodoo), Tito Larriva (The Plugz), John Doe (X), DJ Bonebrake (X), Dave Alvin (The Blasters), Bill Bateman (The Blasters) and Steve Berlin (The Blasters, Los Lobos), among others. The band broke up in 1983 after four albums, but reformed sporadically throughout the 1990s and 2000s.

Official site
Myspace site

Flesh Eaters EP (1978)

192kbps mp3

No Questions Asked (1980)

192kbps mp3

A Minute to Pray, a Second to Die (1981)

VBR mp3

Forever Came Today (1982)

224kbps mp3

A Hard Road to Follow (1983)

VBR mp3

The Flesh Eaters part II

1 comment:

TJ Honeysuckle said...

Songs Chris D Taught Us- download the originals of all the covers the Flesheaters & Divine Horsemen ever did.
Comes with track notes, a new essay from Byron Coley and more:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...