Wednesday, 10 September 2008

Iron Monkey

Iron Monkey formed in Nottingham, England, in 1994, intending "to irritate as many people as possible," according to bass player Doug Dalziel. That may have worked for a while, but eventually the band had to deal with the fact that quite a few people actually liked what they were doing. After releasing a self-titled six-song mini-album in 1996, the band gained a fair amount of appreciation in the underground. Rumors abounded that Pantera frontman Phil Anselmo was listening to the self-titled release when he overdosed on heroin in 1996. As a result of the buzz and infamy around the recording, live shows, and associated rumors, Iron Monkey was picked up by the metal giant Earache in 1997 and released the epic and disturbing Our Problem in 1998. The big label exposure transformed Iron Monkey from a local force into one of two powerhouse sludge bands in the late '90s, the other being New Orleans' Eyehategod. After recording Our Problem, Iron Monkey remained fiercely independent, recording the last effort by the group, the 10" record and CD split with Japan's Church of Misery, We've Learned Nothing, for Melvins cover artist and stoner rock label owner Frank Kozik's Man's Ruin records.
~ Paul Kott, All Music Guide

Iron Monkey (1997)

1. Fink Dial
2. Web of Piss
3. Big Loader

4. 666 Pack
5. Black Aspirin

6. Shrimp Fist

format: mp3
bitrate: 192kbps

Our Problem (1998)

1. Bad Year
2. Supagorgonizer

3. Boss Keloid
4. I.R.M.S.

5. House Anxiety

6. 2 Golden Rules
7. 9 Join Spiritual Whip
8. Feedback

format: mp3
bitrate: 192kbps

We've Learned Nothing/split with Church of Misery (1999)

Iron Monkey:
1. Sleep to Win

2. Arsonaut

3. Kiss of Death

Church of Misery:
4. Murder Company (Henry Lee Lucas)

5. Son of a Gun (David Berkowitz)
6. Where Evil Dwells (Richard Ramirez)

format: mp3
bitrate: 192kbps

Ruined by Idiots - Live and Unleashed (2002)

1. Fink Dial (live)
2. 666 Pack (live)
3. Big Loader (live)
4. Web of Piss (live)
5. Charlton Heston's Floor
6. Boss Keloid
7. Dukes of Nothing
8. Dehumanized (Void cover)
9. Cornucopia (Black Sabbath cover)
10. Bad Year (live)
11. House ANxiety (live)
12. I.R.M.S./outro (live)
13. Untitled studio rehearsal
14. Untitled studio rehearsal

format: mp3
bitrate: 192kbps

1 comment:

Gabriel Ferreira said...

Finally I found Iron Monkey's debut! Thank ya very much!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...