Thursday, 9 October 2008

Heavy Trash

A meeting of the minds between two musicians who explore the nexus between punk rock and roots music, Heavy Trash is a collaboration between Jon Spencer and Matt Verta-Ray. Spencer first attracted the attention of adventurous music fans in 1985 with his primitive guitar work and raw vocals with frantic noise merchants Pussy Galore, but when the band split in 1990, he joined forces with guitarist Judah Bauer and drummer Russell Simins to form the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion. Melding R&B accents and Spencer's feral blues wailing with a fractured but potent post-punk attack, the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion became one of the most acclaimed and controversial indie bands on the 1990s. Strong as the Blues Explosion was, Spencer was always on the lookout for new avenues for his music and during his downtime he also performed and recorded with R.L. Burnside, Boss Hog, the Gibson Brothers, Dub Narcotic Sound System, and Spencer Dickinson. In 2005, Spencer began writing and recording material with Matt Verta-Ray, who played bass with the acclaimed alternative group Madder Rose on their first two albums as well as handling guitar chores for the more hard-edged blues punk band Speedball Baby, who had toured with Blues Explosion. (In addition, both Spencer and Verta-Ray had recorded with R&B sleaze legend Andre Williams; Spencer contributed to his 2000 album The Black Godfather while Verta-Ray lent his guitar skills to 2001's Bait and Switch.) Spencer and Verta-Ray named their collaboration Heavy Trash, and in 2005 they released their first album, simply titled Heavy Trash, which eased back on the blues textures of their earlier work in favor of a pronounced rockabilly and honky tonk flavor; the album was also engineered and co-produced by Verta-Ray at his recording studio, N.Y. Hed. In 2007, Heavy Trash returned with a second album, Going Way Out with Heavy Trash.
~ Mark Deming, All Music Guide

Official site
Myspace site

Heavy Trash (2005)

1. Dark Hair'd Rider
2. Lover Street
3. The Loveless

4. Walking Bum

5. Justine Alright

6. Under the Waves
7. The Hump

8. Mr.K.I.A.

9. Gatorade

10. This Day Is Mine
11. Fix These Blues

12. Take My Hand

13. Yeah Baby

format: mp3
bitrate: VBR

Going Way Out With Heavy Trash (2007)

1. Pure Gold
2. Outside Chance
3. Double Line
4. Kissy Baby
5. That Ain't Right
6. I Want Oblivion
7. Way Out
8. She Baby
9. They Were Kings
10. Crazy Pritty Baby
11. I Want Refuge
12. Crying Tramp
13. You Can't Win

format: mp3
bitrate: 192kbps


Anonymous said...

Video Heavy Trash .

Anonymous said...

Midnight Soul serenade

Blogger said...

eToro is the #1 forex broker for new and full-time traders.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...