Monday, 1 December 2008


Scott Morgan's Powertrane is the latest in a long line of rocking rhythm and blues bands from the spiritual home of the genre, Ann Arbor, Michigan. Powertrane was formed early in 2001. When Geoff Ginsberg, president of Real O Minds Records (Philadelphia), brought Robert Gillespie into Forty-Ounce Studio in Ann Arbor, Michigan to overdub the guitar work on Morgan's song, "Satisfier", the chemistry between Morgan and Gillespie was immediately apparent. Both are seasoned veterans of Detroit's storied rock-n-roll history. Morgan, the prime soul sound of the Rationals in the 60's, went on to form the nucleus of the Sonic's Rendezvous Band (with Fred "Sonic" Smith of the MC5) in the 70's, Scots Pirates (with Scott Asheton) in the 80's, and, more recently, the Hydromatics. In the mid 70's, Gillespie was a charter member of the "New MC5" with Rob Tyner; later he and Johnny Angelos teamed up to form the notorious Torpedos. Gillespie joined with Mitch Ryder's Detroit Wheels in the early 80's, started the Motor City Rockers (with ex-Romantic Jimmy Marinos) in the early 90's, and then returned to work with Mitch Ryder in the mid-90's to present. Joining these Detroit rock-n-roll warriors are two young and talented Ann Arbor-based musicians. Andy Frost has been playing drums with Scott Morgan's Hydromatics lineup and previously played with the High Rollers. Chris Taylor has rocked many local fans as the lead guitarist of the punk band Mazinga; he plays bass guitar for Powertrane. Featuring guest musicians Deniz Tek (Radio Birdman), Ron Asheton (the Stooges) and Hiawatha Bailey (Cult Heroes), Ann Arbor Revival Meeting is a must-have for aficionados of the Motor City sound.

Ann Arbor Revival Meeting (2003)

1. R.I.P. R&R
2. Hangin' On

3. Runaway Slaves
4. Ready to Ball

5. Blood from a Stone

6. Taboo

7. Earthy

8. Shellback

9. Love and Learn

10. What Gives

11. Dangerous

12. Outside

13. 1969

14. I Wanna Be Your Dog

15. Down on the Street

16. No Fun

17. TV Eye

format: mp3
bitrate: 128kbps

Beyond the Sound (2007)

1. Chilly Willy Is Missing
2. Beyond the Sound
3. Mixed Up Shook Up World
4. Ain't No Time
5. Inner-Flight Head Royale
6. Pearl
7. One-Eyed Jacks
8. Nightliner
9. I Stole Everything
10. Taboo
11. Talk Is Cheap

format: mp3
bitrate: 128kbps


Capitain Poon said...

Hey, amazing band. Thanks for the "Ann Arbor Revival Meeting". Cheers and beers.

Jukebox said...

Thank you so much for writing about Powertrane! Glad you enjoy our jams!

BlackSpring said...

I didn't knew them. Great sound. Thanks for the post. Cheers


Fucking awesome band, dudes! This blog fucking rules in terms of good rock'n'roll bands. Keep it up!
Greetings from Belgium!

gaza said...

gaza-great band thanks for the posts

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...