Monday, 9 June 2008

The Hydromatics

The Hydromatics are made up of Detroit rocker Scott Morgan (The Rationals, Sonic's Rendezvous Band, Scots Pirates, Dodge Main), The Hellacopters' Nicke Royale, and two Dutch punks, Tony Slug (Loveslug, Nitwitz) and Theo Brouwer (Nitwitz, Big Paulus). They got together to record an album in February '99 in Amsterdam with studio wizard Evert Kaatee twiddling the knobs. The idea was to make a definitive hard rock album featuring Morgan's legendary voice. Both Slug and Royale are huge fans of Morgan's work with Sonic's Rendezvous Band in the '70s, and the had recorded two songs, "Heaven" "City Slang, " by the seminal Detroit/Ann Arbor band. When the Hellacopters made their U.S. debut in November '98 in New York City, Morgan joined the band for scorching encores of the above-mentioned songs. They also recorded a single, the ripping "Down Right Blue", produced by Daniel Rey with Morgan and Royale sharing the lead vocals, which has been released on Sub-Pop. When the Hellacopters returned to the U.S. in December, Morgan did some shows with them in the Mid-west adding more songs to their collective repertoire. Although they are from different generations and half a world apart geographically, Morgan and the Hellacopters fit together perfectly. Slug was in the loop in terms of getting Morgan and the Hellacopters together, and, always thinking, figured it would be great if he and his pal Nicke could get Morgan to record with them. Morgan jumped at the chance, as these guys understand his music and have a certain reverence for it. The plan was to give some of the old SRB tunes a proper studio recording as well as bringing in new songs. The results were impressive to say the least.
- Geoff Ginsberg, All Music Guide

Myspace site

Parts Unknown (1999)

1. Earthy
2. Valentine Frankenstein
3. Dangerous
4. Runaway Slaves

5. Heaven

6. Get It Together

7. No Justice (in Rock 'n' Roll)

8. Getting There (Is Half the Fun)

9. 7 Come 11

10. Nailed

11. Calling LWA

12. Baby Won't Ya

format: mp3
bitrate: 192 kbps

Powerglide (2001)

1. Ready to Ball
2. RIP R'n'R
3. Soulbone

4. Asteroid B-612
5. Tumblin' Down
6. Love and Learn

7. Sweet Nothing
8. Powerglide

9. Hustlin'

10. Thrill
11. Green Eyed Soul

12. Do It Again

13. Electrophonic Tonic

format: mp3
bitrate: 192kbps

The Earth Is Shaking (2007)

1. Standin' at the Juke
2. Baby Jane
3. Mystically Yours
4. Streets of Amsterdam
5. Funball
6. Power and Glory
7. The Most
8. Speechless
9. All Down the Line
10. The Earth is Shaking
11. Detroit Leaning
12. Monumental

format: mp3
bitrate: 256kbps


Garageland said...

excellent blog, with fine tunes
more of this!!!!! from

Anonymous said...

Thanks for posting the Hydromatics stuff. I would never have heard it otherwise. It blew my sh*t away. I was stunned. Not expected. I'm a hoge fan of SRB and Hellacopters but I thought this would be just another side project, with all the usual lameness that would imply. Was I ever (gladly) wrong!

Machinegun said...



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...