Thursday, 26 June 2008

The BellRays part I

Vocalist Lisa Kekaula guitarist Bob Venuum formed the BellRays around 1990 in Riverside, CA. Originally, the duo leaned heavily on a vintage R&B sound flecked with smoky jazz overtones. But with the addition of guitarist Tony Fate and Venumm moving to bass, the sound soon began to mix Kekaula's alley cat soul vocals with a biting punk rock bottom end. The "In the Light of the Sun" cassette release appeared in 1993, followed by the "Wall of Soul" 7" two years later. The BellRays issued their debut full-length, "Let It Blast", in 1998 and supported it with an extensive tour that included a particularly fiery appearance at Austin's South by Southwest conference. By now, drummer Ray Chin had joined the fold, and the 'Rays were making waves with their furiously passionate sound. The "Grand Fury" LP dropped in 2001 from Los Angeles indie Upper Cut and was followed by a European release combining it with "Let It Blast". Tours with notables like Rocket From the Crypt and Nashville Pussy continued to spread the word, and In Music We Trust reissued "In the Light of the Sun". 2003 saw the Upper Cut release of "Raw Collection", an odds 'n' sods compilation featuring B-sides, rarities, and vinyl-only material from 1995 through 2002.
~ Johnny Loftus, All Music Guide

In the Light of the Sun (1993)

1. Crazy Water
2. Wandering Spirits
3. Footprints on Water
4. Same Ground

5. Can I Make You Want Me

6. Tell Me What the Sun Said

7. He's Gone Wrong

8. Blue, Blue, Blue

9. You'd Better Find a Way
10. In the Light of the Sun

11. The Ghost I'm After

12. Tell Me What You've Been Working On

format: mp3
bitrate: 192kbps

Let It Blast (1998)

1. Future Now!
2. Changing Colours

3. Cold Man Night
4. Today Was

5. Kill the Messenger

6. Blue Cirque
7. Good Behaviour

8. Testify
9. Dark Horse Pigeon

10. Hole in the World

11. Dead

12. Killer Man

13. Fuzzhead

14. King of the World
15. Black Honey

16. Blues for Godzilla
17. Get on Thru

format: mp3
bitrate: 160kbps

Grand Fury (2000)

1. Noise Fragment
2. Too Many Houses in Here
3. Fire on the Moon

4. Snake City

5. Ska Driver

6. Screwdriver

7. Heat Cage
8. Evil Morning

9. Zero P.M.
10. Do You Speak English

11. Stupid F**kin People

12. Have a Little Faith in Me

13. Monkey House

14. Little Funny Jam
15. Warhead

16. Under the Mountain
17. They Glued Your Heart On Upside Down
18. Hello Hello

format: mp3
bitrate: 192kbps

Raw Collection (2002)

1. You're Sorry Now
2. Nights in Venice
3. Half a Mind
4. Mind's Eye
5. Swastika
6. Gather Darkness
7. Mother Pinball
8. Suicide Baby
9. Chemical
10. Tie Me Down
11. Say What You Mean
12. Rude Awakening
13. I Lost the Feeling
14. The Same Way

format: mp3
bitrate: 192kbps

The BellRays part II


Anonymous said...

Excellent stuff - much appreciated!

Anonymous said...

Lovin this, thanks so much for your work, this web is amazing

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...