Monday, 21 July 2008

The Distillers

The hardcore punk outfit the Distillers first came together in late 1998 when Aussie native Brody Armstrong met bassist Kim Chi at work and realized their love for playing. Soon they hooked up with Detroit guitarist Rose Casper and drummer Matt. Signed to Epitaph, the band issued its self-titled debut in April 2000. "Sing Sing Death House" appeared the same year, but was re-released in early 2002 thanks to the sudden popularity of "Seneca Falls". By now, Kim Chi had left the group to join Exene Cervenka in her band, the Original Sinners. Ryan Sinn stepped in to replace her; Matt departed to join Chi while Casper left during the height of "Seneca Falls." By summer 2002, the Distillers were composed of Armstrong, Sinn, and new drummer Andy "Outbreak" Granelli; joint American dates with No Doubt and Garbage were planned for later that fall. Guitarist/vocalist Tony Bradley joined the Distillers in time for the recording of their third album and major-label debut, "Coral Fang", which was released in 2003 by Sire. For the album, Armstrong reverted back to playing under the name Brody Dalle, following her very public divorce from Rancid's Tim Armstrong that same year. Granelli left the band in early 2005, moving on to play with Darker My Love, and by summer, Sinn had exited as well, later joining up with Angels and Airwaves. Despite rumors, the Distillers, now just comprised of Dalle and Bradley, denied that they were breaking up, instead simply going on hiatus. In early 2006, Dalle had her first child, daughter Camille, with new husband Josh Homme of Queens of the Stone Age. By the year's end, the two remaining members formally announced the band's disbandment and went on to form Spinnerette together.
~ MacKenzie Wilson, All Music Guide

The Distillers (2000)

1. Oh Serena
2. Idoless

3. The World Comes Tumblin'

4. L.A. Girl
5. Distilla Truant

6. Ask the Angels
7. Old Scratch

8. Girlfixer

9. Open Sky
10. Red Carpet and Rebellion

11. Colossus U.S.A.
12. Blackheart

13. Gypsy Rose Lee
14. The Blackest Years

format: mp3
bitrate: 192kbps

Sing Sing Death House (2002)

1. Sick of It All
2. I am a Revenant

3. Seneca Falls

4. The Young Crazed Peeling

5. Sing Sing Death House

6. Bullet & the Bullseye

7. City of Angels

8. Young Girl

9. Hate Me

10. Desperate

11. I Understand
12. Lordy Lordy

format: mp3
bitrate: 192kbps

Coral Fang (2003)

1. Drain the Blood
2. Dismantle Me
3. Die on a Rope
4. The Gallow Is God
5. Coral Fang
6. The Hunger
7. Hall of Mirrors
8. Beat Your Heart Out
9. Love Is Paranoid
10. For Tonight You're Only Here to Know
11. Death Sex

format: mp3
bitrate: 192kbps

1 comment:

Ploni said...

תודה רבה

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...