Wednesday, 9 July 2008

The Stems

Leaders Dom Mariani and Richard Lane formed Australian garage/punk rockers the Stems in 1983. Playing such local venues as The Wizbah, The Old Melbourne, and The Shenton Park on a regular basis, the group built a substantial following, resulting in the release of their debut single in mid-1985, "Make You Mine" b/w "She's A Monster." Further releases soon followed, including singles, EPs (such as the "Love Will Grow" EP, produced by Radio Birdman's Rob Younger), and full-lengths (1987's best-selling "At First Sight Violets Are Blue"). Strangely, at the height of their success, the group suddenly disbanded. But over the years, Mariani and Lane have been able to put their differences aside to reunite the Stems for the odd reunion show, including a pair of shows in 1997. In 2007, the Stems also released their long overdue second album, "Heads Up", the follow up to 1987’s "At First Sight Violets Are Blue". The new album contained ten new original garage rock gems.

Official site
Myspace site

At First Sight Violets Are Blue (1987)

1. At First Sight
2. Sad Girl
3. Rosebud

4. Man With the Golden Heart

5. Running Around

6. For Always

7. You Can't Turn the Clock Back

8. Move Me

9. Mr.Misery

10. Can't Forget That Girl

11. Never Be Friends

12. The Otherside

format: mp3
bitrate: VBR

Buds (1991 anthology)

1. Make You Mine
2. She's a Monster

3. Tears Me in Two

4. Can't Resist

5. Love Will Grow

6. Just Ain't Enough

7. Jumping to Conclusions

8. Under Your Mushroom

9. At First Sight
10. Rosebud

11. Mr.Misery
12. Sad Girl

13. For Always

14. On and On
15. All You Want Me for

16. No Heart

17. Don't Let Me

18. She's Fine

format: mp3
bitrate: 192kbps

Heads Up (2007)

1. Leave You Way Behind
2. She Sees Everything
3. Surround Me
4. Undying Love
5. What's Your Stand
6. Hellbound Train
7. Get to Know Me
8. Only if You Want It
9. Liar
10. Get So Bad

format: mp3
bitrate: 192kbps

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...